Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advices Needed for Mirrorless Purchase
I am starting to think about a mirrorless camera. The main reason is that I need an equipment that is convenient to take for various travels. For your information, I am currently a D700 user. I am fully satisfied with D700 in every apsects except it is not always easy to carry for a trip. I am new to the mirrorless, so I am somewhat lost when I start investigating the big world of mirrorless cameras. So I need your advices.

Although I should not expect a mirrorless to produce images with quality matching D700 (unless I can pay a lot of money), I hope that I can find one that is not too far from D700 or a general DSLR in image quality, high iso performance, and DR. Of course, with a price that I can afford. This means, Leica M and Fuji X-pro 1 are excluded (indeed I also feel that the AF/MF of X-pro1 will be somewhat frustrating for me).

The Nikon mirrorless are also excluded, I cannot accept a too small sensor. For me, the starting point for sensor size would be the 4/3 system (about 13x17mm).

Sony has nice mirrorless cameras, with APS-C size senors and affordable prices, for example the NEX-5N. However, as a Nikon user I feel a little bit strange to buy a non-Nikon APS-C camera since it implies that I need to build up a new system of APS-C or even FX size lenses (APS-C size prime lenses are rare). (To be honest, I also don't like the shape of Sony mirrorless cameras, whick looks too "modern"--of course this is irrelevant to image quality, just personal preference.) (Please tell me if you think I should not have this kind of concerns.)

The Olympus E-M5 is cool, it gets a very high score at dpreview review. But it is also somewhat out of budget for me. For serious photography, I would always consider to use my D700.