Opticallimits
Long time archival - Printable Version

+- Opticallimits (https://forum.opticallimits.com)
+-- Forum: Forums (https://forum.opticallimits.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Just Talk (https://forum.opticallimits.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+--- Thread: Long time archival (/showthread.php?tid=5050)

Pages: 1 2

Long time archival - stoppingdown - 05-31-2021

Short form of the question: which file format should we use for long-term archival of our photos?

Long form with context.
I've been using Adobe Lightroom since October 2017 and Capture One from that date. I've been able to run Lightroom (the last version which didn't require a subscription) up to the beginning of this year; then I bought a new laptop, upgraded to macOS Big Sur and that old Lightroom can't run any longer. I bought PhotoSupreme that I'm now using for all the DAM operations in place of Lightroom. In case of need I still can run Lightroom in a virtualised Mojave, but I want to get rid of this as soon as possible.

Up to now I've always kept and archived the original RAW files for my photos (NEF for Nikon and ARW for Sony). Now I'm worried about two things:

1. That sometime in future the latest version of the RAW processing software I use won't be able to deal with my older files (e.g. Nikon D100, D70, ...)