Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recommendations needed for my first lens
Hi there!

A colleague from work upgrades to the professional series (5D) and therefore wants to get rid of his 50D body with some equipment (additional batteries, case etc. but without any lenses). As this is going to be my first DSLR camera, I'd like to get some recommendations for matching, reasonably-priced lenses. I'm a beginner, but having in mind that the camera is not really a "newbie model", I'd like to buy a lense that does not reduce the image quality the camera offers. At the same time, I'm not an ambitious semi-professional photographer, so the price shouldn't be too high (about 450€ max per lense).

I've also been told that in order to maintain a good quality, I should rather buy a wide-angle up to portrait lense first and an additional tele lens later, instead of one multi-purpose lense that covers a wide range but also significantly impacts image quality. That sounds good to me. One lense would absolutely be ok for the beginning.

After some research I found a lot of Tamron lenses - are they ok or are there better alternatives, maybe some more unknown brands that also produce good products? Are the original Canon lenses best choice or is there maybe a "better" mutli-range lense without quality problems that I could use (which may be cheaper than two individual lenses)? I would also buy a used product if it was ok.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and recommendations!

Regards

Rob

The Canon 18-135/3.5-5.6 STM lens (but only the STM model) is a great choice for an all around lens. Probably the best out there (and it's pretty cheap, too). The Tamron 17-50/2.8 lens is obviously a different focal length range but paired with a longer lens (like a Canon 55-250/4-5.6 STM or Tamron 70-300/4-5.6 VC) should work even better, for an even greater range of subjects.