Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Telephoto versus Telescope
Hello Forum,

I am new to photography but willing to learn. I have several questions/discussions I would like to start.

For now, let me pose this question:

What is the difference between a telescope and a telephoto optical system? Both are used to get enlarged images of a scene.

I know a telescope is an afocal system when it is used to view distant object but is not afocal when viewing nearby objects.

Telephoto lenses provide an enlarged image and a narrow field of view.

Thanks,

Kavan

As a history lesson you can look up elsewhere for more detail, telephoto started off as a lens configuration which gave a physical size less than that of the focal length. This gives a size benefit. In modern common usage it generally refers to any lens of longer focal lengths, even if the size criteria might not be met.

Telescopes come in several classes.

1, Refractors - These use refracting optical elements just like most camera lenses. Cheaper telescopes may be as simple as 2 elements (not including eyepiece) to provide a degree of colour correction. And just like lenses, the more elements you use, the better the correction can be, if the design and construction are up to it. Astronomical ones can go as fast as about f/4 ball park, although most are slower.

2, Reflectors - these use mirrors which have a benefit of not introducing any colour problems. In typical designs there will be some obstruction in the light path from needing a secondary mirror, which can reduce contrast a bit. For bigger aperture sizes, this is the cheapest way to "go large". Again, astronomical ones can go as fast as about f/4 ball park, although most are slower.