Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need help for focus stacking
Tied focus stacking in EOS RP, although interesting I am still learning, how much focus increment ? how many shots ? 
how to do it with any camera even if it doesn't have this function ?
any good online tutorial ?
(04-11-2020, 06:07 AM)toni-a Wrote: Tied focus stacking in EOS RP, although interesting I am still learning, how much focus increment ? how many shots ? 
how to do it with any camera  even if it doesn't have this function ?
any good online tutorial ?

There's a ton of utube videos that will explain step by step how to stack images ........
(04-11-2020, 06:07 AM)toni-a Wrote: how to do it with any camera  even if it doesn't have this function ?

But the RP does. With other cameras, manual focus of course.

Some move the camera (with focussing rails) instead of the lens, but that changes the perspective and gives bigger issues with fusing the images than the FOV changes you may see with moving/focussing the lens instead.
Quick google search returned CombineZP and Picolay as two best free options. Never tried any, though. And Photoshop should be able to do it as well:

https://windowsreport.com/focus-stacking-software/
I use Affinity Photo to stack my macros. Earlier attempts with HeliconFocus and HeliconRemote were a bit quirky, so I hesitate to pay 200 $ for a lifetime license. I hear Zerene stacker is slow but rather good when it comes to fusing problems which usually come from shiny highlights. Sometimes these are rather annoying as they affect the contrast of some objects behind which I have a hard time to eliminate.