Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Suggestions for a compact wide angle prime for EOSR
Recently I got RF 35mmf1.8 and I am enjoying it a lot, along with 85mmf2.0 and I am absolutely loving them , however I am missing a little bit on the wide end.
Canon 16mmf2.8 would be an obvious choice, but I feel it's too wide.
18 or 20mm would make much more sense, the only option available is 24mm but it  isn't wide enough besides  I don't see myself using a 24mm prime.
I was tempted to get Sigma 20mmf1.4 and use it via adapter especially I found an excellent sample for an excellent price, but it's big and heavy, in that case I can carry my monstrous   Tokina 16-28... any thoughts ?
My suggestion would be to go for the Canon RF 16 F/2.8 regardless. For price and performance, and compactness, there isn't really anything else out there.

As to the consideration it may be too wide: IMO there is no such thing as an UWA which is too wide. I have been shooting UWA since around 1978, in conditions where I really needed one, and I found I still wanted a wider angle to capture all I wanted and needed to capture. In addition, if it appears too wide an angle of view, all you need to do is move just 1 step forward, and you're done. With current UWA lenses, you do not need to worry about the IQ anymore as we had to do back in the past, as they all tend to be way better, especially primes, as we ever had even 10 to 15 years ago.

My current favourite is my Samyang 10 F/3.5 XP Premium, which is a 10 mm FF lens, and I use it currently more than any other WA lens I own. The thing to remember though is, especially when you are trying to create nice compositions, is to get really close to your foreground subject, and use different perspectives, like close to the ground, or higher up, bird type perspective, as long as you have a foreground subject close to the camera.