Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Highlight tone priority and DPP vs. LR
I am new to Canon.

Canon users here, do you use or recommend HTP?

And what is the consensus on DPP vs. LR?

Thanks

Anurag
First you gave up two full f-stops by exchanging D800 against EOS 6D and saying "artists don't need DR", now you're asking for highlight tone priority. What else is that than simulation of greater DR?  Smile

Quote:First you gave up two full f-stops by exchanging D800 against EOS 6D and saying "artists don't need DR", now you're asking for highlight tone priority. What else is that than simulation of greater DR?  Smile
The 6D has more than enough DR. 

Anyway, highlight tone priority is the opposite of HDR or silly shadow lifting for several stops. It applies a different tonal curve, compressing the dark tonal part and giving more detail to the highlight part.
"The 6D has more than enough DR." depends on what one wants to do. For most people, me included, 16 MP would also count as "more than enough MP" as well as cars don't need to run faster than 140 km/h. It's pretty much the same as saying b/w prints on RC have more than enough grayscale although one  can clearly identify the difference of RC paper prints and FB paper prints if both are exposed and developed carefully.

I still prefer having as much DR as possible although I know common displays or prints can't show 12 f-stops (of 6D). It's a bit of extra security if I can't check exposure after each shot on a live histogram. The one of the camera is just too tiny.

Anyway, if you say "silly shadow lifting" it doesn't sound you're fully-hearted using it?