Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any reason to stay away from FLM tripod?
Hi guys,

Long time lurker here. I need a tripod that’s compact enough to fit into hand luggage, and large enough to be useful. I’m a hobbyist, heaviest camera/lens combo will not exceed Nikon D800 w/ a 135mm macro. I was looking at a FLM CP30-L4S today. Any reason to stay away from that brand, or that particular model?

http://www.flm-gmbh.de/de/produkte/stati.../cp-30l4s/

Didn't know that brand, but thanks anyway for bringing to attention. Looks good, especially the leg mechanism. Appears to be less expensive than Gitzo and more than Sirui.

What I didn't like so much: After removing the center column it can go really low - but then it doesn't have contact with the ground with the rubber feet or spikes but with the clamping rings.

What I didn't like so much: After removing the center column it can go really low - but then it doesn't have contact with the ground with the rubber feet or spikes but with the clamping rings.

JoJu, good point. While I’m not planning to use the tripod at that height, this might be a concern for those who would. I was thinking of using these legs with a Feisol CB-40 ball head. 

FLM is best known and has a fairly good reputation for their ball heads. If you search for high-end ball heads with Arca style clamp mechanism, you'll definitely run into FLM eventually (along with Markins, RRS, Arca Swiss, Novoflex, etc.).

Personally, I didn't know they also build tripods. Judging from the quality of their heads, these should be high quality products.

-- Markus
Editor
opticallimits.com

I didn't have any experience with that brand.