Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advise on wide angle lens on APSC
Hi all, as new member on this site, greeting!

I am an enthusiast photographer that mostly shoot street/travel/documentary

right now my equipment is D7000 + kit lens 18-105 + 35mm f/1.8

Focal lenght that I use curently:

24-80 FL, about 70%

18-24, about 20%

rest 10% is above 80

I have plan to buy 24-70 anytime soon, but by using this fl I will lose my wide angle, though I don't use it so much still valuable to keep, I don't mind loosing telephoto end

which wide angle zoom that you recommend, currently I have some in my mind

Tokina 12-24 f/4, 11-16 seems to strict in range

Tamron 10-24

Sigma 10-20

Sigma 12-24

Nikkor lenses are out of my budget for now, so I have to refer to third party

what I am loking for in this wide angle lens is, focus speed, focus accuracy,sharpness in central and some border, not necessary extreme border

thank you

Nis 

Hm  can you briefly explain why you want to use a 24-70 on Aps-C?

Nikon has a very nice 16-85 which will cover 90% of your shooting and give you more wide angle coverage than your current lens. For low light /shallow dof you have the 35mm 1.8.

A 24-70 will be big and heavy and due to its  narrow zoom range a lot less flexible than your 18-105 or the 16-85. A 24-70 makes  only sense on Aps-C if you absolutly positively need f/2.8 in a zoom. ( But then also condsider Nikons 17-55 unless you want to go full frame soon).

As far as real low light work and shallow dof goes your 35mm or a 50mm or 85mm fix focal length f/1.8 is usally much more useful than a 24-70 f/2.8 zoom.

Dont be fooled into believing that a 24-70 will get you (visibly!) higher image quality on Aps-c. It wont. It will only vignett  less than a dedicated aps-c lens. Anything else will hardly be visible in practice.

Quote:Hm  can you briefly explain why you want to use a 24-70 on Aps-C?