Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sony E 10-18mm f/4 OSS vs Other APS-C W/A lens
Hi,

<span>I am a photographer who uses Nikons Fullframe many years. But I also had experience with APS-C Nikons (D50 and D200). Now recently bought a Sony NEX-6 and I am enjoying it. I intend to purchase a wide angle lens like the 10-18mm f4 OSS (E mount).</span>

<span>I Compared the results of this lens in 10mm with the results of several Wide Angle lenses tested by PhotoZone. The comparisons included lens like Nikon 12-24mm, Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8, Nikon 16-35mm f/4, Canon 10-22mm, Canon 16-35mm f/2.8, Sigma 12-24mm and Sony 11-18mm. All tests were compared with cameras APS-C or equivalent and resolution MTF measurements.</span>

<span>I expected that a relatively inexpensive lens like 10-18mm OSS (compared to other Wide Angles) had much lower performance, because it is a lens for camera mirrorles (NEX-6). I was surprised to see that the MTF values ​​at f/4 and f/5.6 were very good and in many cases even better than WA lenses on APS-C DSLRs with much higher value ($$).</span>

<span>Here is examples:
Sony
<span>OSS 10
-18mm <span>f/4 E       at 10mm f/5.6 Center=3521 and Border=2700 (MTF on NEX-7)
Sony DT  11-18mm f/4.5-5.6   at 11mm f/5.6 Center=2299 and Border=1631</span>
</span></span>

Nikon VR 16-35mm f/4         at 16mm f/5.6 Center=2750 and Border=2452 (MTF on D7000)

Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 at 10mm
f/5.6 Center=2445 and Border=2248 (MTF on 50D)

<span>I know that many factors influence the quality of a lens, but should probably </span><span>sharpness </span><span>be the one that has a great importance. So, can I compare the quality of the lens for this parameter (MTF Resolution) to know if I will buy a sharp lens ?</span>

Go back to the top of this page:

<p style="margin-left:40px;">http://www.opticallimits.com/all-tests

or this one:

<p style="margin-left:40px;">http://www.opticallimits.com/Reviews

Read the first remark: