Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
portrait photography: feedback please
Hello all,

As I am just starting out in portrait photography I am still learning, but making progress.

Therefore I would like to have some feedback on my portraits and tips to improve my skills.

I hope to get some feedback, thank you!

Lony
Please upload the photos again and this time don't clip file size that strong. The compression artefacts are terrible to look at.

Ciao, Walter
Hi Walter,

That brings me to another question, how do I do that then? I used a site where I could make the files smaller.

I am quite new to all this! The size of the pics is just a little bit over 5k.

Ciao,

Lony
[quote name='Lony' timestamp='1300364865' post='6903']how do I do that then?[/quote]

Which OS are you using and which image manipulation program(s) do you have installed?

For windows users there is a small program named JPGcompressor: http://www.nsonic-net.de/index.php?optio...iew&id=296

Don't forget to add some sharpening for images scaled down.

Try 200k file size.

Ciao, Walter
Just a short comment on the layout of the two portraits:

I like the Jose portrait. Would you cut it in the middle, you would have a

very traditional (but somewhat boring) portrait. As is, it moves the head out

of the middle and the eyes near to one of the "rule-of-thirds-points". Also,

Jose establishes a sort of contact with the viewer (by the direct look of

her eyes).

The Simone portrait is (in my eyes) somewhat the opposite ...

The head is nearly centric (which makes this one a bit boring), but

Simone looks out of the picture on the "short side" ... thereby, her look

doesn't occupy the larger amount of empty space on the right ...

which leave the beholder asking himself what the space is meant for.

Eventually a bit of cropping could help this picture. A real boost would come

from "something" on the left side that Simone is looking at.