Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Shooting RAW vs JPG
I started digital photography shooting JPG  then rapidly switched to RAW, and shot nothing but RAW till last year when I started RAW plus JPG, and noticed, that for events and everything that is not landscape or studio like portraiture, I don't actually need RAW.
This week I started shooting JPG and discovered how practical it is, of course now I am shooting correct exposure not to the right to avoid shadow noise, I am setting white balance manually or bracketing it or grey grey card. What's the point of RAW if all they would be used to is a WebPage ?
So finally I managed to overcome my anxiety and shoot JPG and save precious time for more important things.
Of course for every other photos when I will be printing or I need good colors RAW is still the norm.
I know many who shoot nothing but JPG others who do just the opposite I am with neither
I'd rather shoot RAW all the time than miss a sudden photo opportunity due to a low quality picture because my camera was set to JPEG.
Quote:What's the point of RAW if all they would be used to is a WebPage ?

I always shoot RAW, but as you said it depends on the target. If your target is only the web, you probably have enough for most uses. It also depends on the workflow you use. I understand that RAW actually need more work (but for me is part of the fun).
stoppingdown.net

Sony a6300, Sony a6000, Sony NEX-6, Sony E 10-18mm F4 OSS, Sony Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS, Sony FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS, Sigma 150-600mm Æ’/5-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary, Samyang 12mm Æ’/2, Sigma 30mm F2.8 DN | A, Meyer Gorlitz Trioplan 100mm Æ’/2.8, Samyang 8mm Æ’/3.5 fish-eye II | Zenit Helios 44-2 58mm Æ’/2 
Plus some legacy Nikkor lenses.