Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sigma 150-600 Contemporary vs Sport?
It will be used on a Sony a6000 (later the a6300) in Canon mount via the latest Sigma adapter.

Do anybody have any personal impression to share? For what is available on the internet, I think I've read everything...

I'm going to have some lent money back and it has been one year since when I bought the latest lens :-) Furthermore I have a discount code valid for a couple of weeks only... So it would make sense to anticipate the buy even though the Sigma adapter is not available yet.

Thanks.

stoppingdown.net

Sony a6300, Sony a6000, Sony NEX-6, Sony E 10-18mm F4 OSS, Sony Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS, Sony FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS, Sigma 150-600mm Æ’/5-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary, Samyang 12mm Æ’/2, Sigma 30mm F2.8 DN | A, Meyer Gorlitz Trioplan 100mm Æ’/2.8, Samyang 8mm Æ’/3.5 fish-eye II | Zenit Helios 44-2 58mm Æ’/2 
Plus some legacy Nikkor lenses.
  I've no experience with Sony's A6000/6300 and the appropriate adapters, but I could see a limited performance with regards to auto focus.........both lenses are very capable fast focusing lenses, but with contrast detect AF via an adapter and an aperture of F6.3 at the long end?......that's one tough call on mirror-less.

Personally I wouldn't use either of these lenses on anything other than a DSLR body, here the balance would be better and PDAF will give you full performance and the ability to track subjects and shoot BIF and moving creatures that the Sony probably won't achieve!

Maybe posting the same question on DPreview's Sony forum would be appropriate.......be prepared for a rethink!

P.S. I'm shooting the Tamron 150-600mm on the D750/D7100.